Skip to content
ElectricMood
Back to E-bike buying guides

Fastest and Most Powerful Electric Bikes 2027

The fastest electric bike 2027 with tested top speed, power and torque, from street-legal 28 mph e-bikes to off-road machines, plus picks under $2,500.

By Paul Gendry· · Updated · 18 min read

On this page
  1. 1.Fastest electric bike 2027 at a glance
  2. 2.Fastest electric bike 2027 top speed: street-legal picks
    1. 2.1Aventon Level 4 REC: fastest tested street-legal e-bike
    2. 2.2Lectric XP4 750: the cheapest way to 28 mph
    3. 2.3Ride1Up Revv 1: the moto-style fast bike under $2,000
    4. 2.4Ride1Up Vorsa: the power pick
    5. 2.5Aventon Level 3: Class 3 for less
    6. 2.6Segway Myon: the fastest hill climber
    7. 2.7Stromer ST7: the speed pedelec
  3. 3.Fastest production electric bike 2027: off-road and private-property machines
  4. 4.Fastest electric bike in the world 2027: what counts as a record
  5. 5.Most powerful electric bike 2027: watts, torque and what they mean
  6. 6.Hill-climb speed: the best test of a powerful e-bike
  7. 7.Most reliable high speed electric bike under 2500 in 2027
  8. 8.Classes, law and speed
  9. 9.Safety at speed
  10. 10.Prices and where the sources disagree
  11. 11.Frequently asked questions
    1. 11.1What is the fastest electric bike 2027?
    2. 11.2What is the fastest electric bike top speed 2027 you can legally ride?
    3. 11.3What is the fastest electric bike 2027 top speed in a tested review?
    4. 11.4What is the fastest production electric bike 2027 buyers can get?
    5. 11.5What is the fastest production electric bike top speed 2027 in a real test?
    6. 11.6What is the fastest production electric bike 2027 top speed under $2,000?
    7. 11.7What is the fastest electric bike in the world 2027?
    8. 11.8What is the most powerful electric bike 2027?
    9. 11.9What is the most reliable high speed electric bike under 2500?
    10. 11.10Is a more powerful motor faster?
    11. 11.11Can I unlock my e-bike for more speed?
  12. 12.The bottom line

The fastest electric bike 2027 buyers can legally ride on most roads and paths tops out at 28 mph, because that is where Class 3 pedal assist stops. The bikes that reach it in independent tests are the Aventon Level 4 REC (Electric Bike Review says it "reaches 28 mph without hesitation") and the Lectric XP4 750, which Lectric lists at 28 mph. Faster bikes exist: the Ride1Up Revv 1 reached 46 mph in OutdoorGearLab's closed-course test with its off-road mode, and Sur-Ron and Ariel Rider claim 46 to 60 mph. But those are off-road or private-property machines, and I say which is which.

For raw power, the picture splits. The most powerful electric bike 2027 shoppers can buy under $2,500, by tested watts, is the Ride1Up Vorsa: OutdoorGearLab measured more than 1,200 W on a dynamometer from its 750 W motor, and Electric Bike Review saw peaks past 1,400 W on climbs. By torque, the leaders in Electric Bike Review's list are Aventon's Current EXP at 110 Nm (120 Nm in Boost) and the Velotric Nomad 2X at 105 Nm.

I haven't ridden any of these bikes. Everything comes from OutdoorGearLab, Electric Bike Review, Electric Bike Report, maker specs and Wikipedia's summary of e-bike laws, and I label each number as tested, observed or claimed. Checked October 9, 2026.

This page may contain affiliate links, which means ElectricMood can earn a commission if you buy through them. See the affiliate disclosure. For the all-round picks, see my best electric bikes guide.

Fastest electric bike 2027 at a glance#

CategoryBikeTop speedBasisStreet legal?
Fastest street-legalAventon Level 4 REC28 mph pedal assist, 20 mph throttleTested (OutdoorGearLab, Electric Bike Review)Yes, Class 2 or 3
Fastest street-legalLectric XP4 75028 mphLectric spec; OutdoorGearLab says it cruises "at speeds up to 28 mph"Yes, Class 1, 2 or 3
Fastest street-legalRide1Up Revv 1 (Class 3 mode)28 mphTested (Electric Bike Report)Yes, ships Class 2
Fastest with an off-road modeRide1Up Revv 146 mph (OutdoorGearLab); about 35 mph (Electric Bike Report, informal)Tested, but the two testers disagreeOff-road only, registration and waiver required (OutdoorGearLab)
Fastest with an off-road modeRide1Up Vorsa ST37 mphOutdoorGearLab review text, "on private property"Off-road only
Off-road machineSur-Ron Light Bee XAbout 46 to 50 mphMaker figuresNot street legal in stock form
Off-road machineAriel Rider Grizzly 72V60+ mphMaker claimPrivate property only
Most powerful (tested)Ride1Up Vorsa STMore than 1,200 W from a 750 W motorDyno (OutdoorGearLab)Yes

The street-legal ceiling is the same for every bike: 28 mph on pedal assist and 20 mph on throttle in the US. Spending more doesn't raise it, it changes how quickly and comfortably a bike gets there.

For the fastest electric bike top speed 2027 riders can use on public paths, the ceiling is 28 mph on pedal assist, and every bike below shares it. The differences are in hills, range and price.

OutdoorGearLab's review says "You can choose to pedal up to 28 mph or rely on the throttle up to 20 mph." Electric Bike Review says it "reaches 28 mph without hesitation." It lists $1,999, a 750 W hub with 80 Nm (96 Nm in Boost), a 733 Wh battery and 70.3 lb, scored 85 at OutdoorGearLab and climbed hills well (a 9.2 hill score). It is Class 2 or 3 and switchable. For its range, see my longest range e-bikes guide.

Check the current price

Lectric XP4 750: the cheapest way to 28 mph#

At $1,299 on sale (OutdoorGearLab), the XP4 750 has a 750 W motor with 1,310 W peak and 85 Nm, an 840 Wh battery and Class 1, 2 or 3 settings. OutdoorGearLab scored it 86 and measured an 18 mph average on its 9% hill test, tied for the second-best hill speed in its table. At 72 lb it is heavy but folds (see my folding e-bike guide).

Check the current price

Ride1Up Revv 1: the moto-style fast bike under $2,000#

The Revv 1 is the one bike here built for speed first. It ships as Class 2 (20 mph on throttle), switches to Class 3 (28 mph on pedal assist) and has an off-road mode. Electric Bike Report tested the 28 mph Class 3 mode and 20 mph throttle limit, and found the off-road mode to be about 35 mph in informal riding, with no test data gathered. OutdoorGearLab measured 46 mph in that mode on a closed course in a review from June 2023. I can't tell you why they differ; the bikes and firmware may have changed in between. It lists a 750 W Bafang hub with 95 Nm, an 84 to 93 lb weight (OutdoorGearLab and Electric Bike Report disagree), a 400 lb rider limit, 4-piston hydraulic brakes, and Electric Bike Report measured a 19 ft 2 in average stopping distance from 20 mph. Prices run from $1,895 for the hardtail to $2,595 for the dirt version (ebikegearlab, a competitor listing), against $1,995 in OutdoorGearLab's 2023 review. Electric Bike Report notes UL 2271 as a claim. Unlocking the off-road mode requires registration and a waiver per OutdoorGearLab, and Electric Bike Report advises you to check local laws first.

Check the current price

Ride1Up Vorsa: the power pick#

OutdoorGearLab's Vorsa ST scored 81, lists $1,695 on sale, weighs 66 lb and measured a 34.3 mile range. Its headline number is the dyno: "The 750-watt hub motor produced more than 1,200 watts." Electric Bike Review separately saw the Vorsa "peaking past 1400W" on climbs. OutdoorGearLab's review text says an off-road mode enables speeds up to 37 mph on private property, which is a review statement rather than a measured test. It is class 1, 2 or 3.

Check the current price

Aventon Level 3: Class 3 for less#

Listed at $1,799 with a 500 W hub (864 W peak) and 60 Nm, the Level 3 ships in Class 2 trim and reaches 28 mph in Class 3 mode (per the ebikegearlab listing, which is a maker-spec summary). OutdoorGearLab's hill speed for it was 14.5, slower than the XP4 750 and Level 4. The point is price, not performance.

Check the current price

Segway Myon: the fastest hill climber#

The Myon had the best 9% hill speed in OutdoorGearLab's table, 18.8, ahead of the Xafari at 18.5. It scored 84, lists $1,999, weighs 73.1 lb and is class 1, 2 or 3. OutdoorGearLab calls it best for steep hills. Its top speed is the same 28 mph as the others.

Check the current price

Stromer ST7: the speed pedelec#

The Stromer ST7 is a different category: a speed pedelec that Stromer lists at 28 mph (45 km/h) sustained and about 160 miles of range, for roughly $15,000. Those are maker figures, and I found no independent test. In Europe, speed pedelecs are treated as mopeds in some countries, so check your local rules.

Fastest production electric bike 2027: off-road and private-property machines#

If the question is the fastest production electric bike 2027 sells to the public, the answer depends on what you call a bike. For the fastest production electric bike top speed 2027 claims, the figures run from 60 to 65+ mph, and for the fastest production electric bike 2027 top speed that anyone has tested on a closed course, the best I found is the Revv 1 in off-road mode. These are machines with larger motors, often with pedals as a formality, and none is a street-legal e-bike in the usual sense. Every figure in the table is a maker claim unless stated.

ModelClaimed top speedMotor and torquePrice (as reported)Notes
HPC Revolution X965+ mph9,000 W system$18,000SlashGear, October 2023
HPC Revolution X60+ mph8,000 W option$15,000SlashGear, October 2023
Ariel Rider Grizzly 72V60+ mph8,000 W peak (3,000 W rated), 250 Nm, 3,240 Wh$3,199Private property only
Stealth B-5250 mphNot statedA$12,800SlashGear, October 2023
Delfast Top 3.050 mph in Unlimited modeNot statedFrom $5,499Class 2 (20 mph) street mode
Sur-Ron Light Bee XAbout 46 to 50 mphAbout 10 kW peak, 295 Nm$4,500 to $5,000About 120 lb, off-road only
Ristretto 512 A2440 mph in Race mode250 Nm claimed$4,395Class 1 and 3 modes
HPC Scout Pro40 mphUp to 240 NmFrom $6,995

Two warnings. First, the SlashGear list is from October 2023, so prices and models may have changed. Second, one source calls the Sur-Ron's figures "independently tested" in one place and "published specs" in another, so I treat them as maker figures. For the Sur-Ron lineup, see my Sur-Ron guide.

Per Wikipedia's summary of e-bike laws, commercial e-bikes beyond the federal low-speed limits are regulated by NHTSA as motor vehicles, and under state codes many fall under moped rules, with registration or a driver's license required in places such as Hawaii and Kentucky. That is the practical meaning of "private property only."

Fastest electric bike in the world 2027: what counts as a record#

The fastest electric bike in the world 2027 articles quote are mostly electric motorcycles. The clearest example in my sources is Zef Eisenberg's September 2019 run at Elvington in Yorkshire: 185.103 mph over a flying kilometre, with a 197 mph GPS peak, on an electric motorcycle built by Nottingham University students and put forward for FIM ratification (RideApart). That is not a pedal-capable bicycle, and it isn't something you can buy.

So there are three useful lines:

  • Street-legal e-bike: 28 mph, Class 3.
  • Production off-road bike: 46 to 65+ mph in maker figures, the HPC Revolution X9 at the top.
  • Records: electric motorcycles at nearly 200 mph, which belong to a different category.

The sources that rank the "fastest e-bikes in the world" mostly repeat maker claims. I haven't found an independent speed test for the HPC, Ariel Rider or Stealth bikes. For a deeper dive on these claims, see my guide to the fastest e-bikes on the market.

Most powerful electric bike 2027: watts, torque and what they mean#

Power and torque are different, and neither sets a street-legal top speed.

  • Nominal watts is the continuous rating. Peak watts is the short burst. A "750 W" motor can peak at 1,200 to 1,639 W.
  • Torque (Nm) is the twisting force that helps you climb and accelerate.
  • Top speed on a legal e-bike is capped by the class, so extra power mostly buys hill performance.

Here are the strongest motors in the tested lists, with the basis for each number:

E-bikeNominal and peak powerTorqueBasis
Aventon Current EXP850 W110 Nm (120 Nm Boost)Maker claim (Electric Bike Review)
Velotric Nomad 2X750 W105 NmMaker claim
Mokwheel Obsidian ST1,000 W (summary), 1,300 W (body)105 NmClaim, with conflicting figures
Aventon Aventure M250 W (table), 750 W peak (text)100 NmClaim, with conflicting figures
Aventon Level 4 ADV750 W peak100 NmClaim
Ride1Up Vorsa FT750 W95 to 96 NmClaim; over 1,400 W peak observed on climbs
Ride1Up Vorsa ST750 WNot statedMore than 1,200 W on a dynamometer (OutdoorGearLab)
Monarc Tracer750 W; 1,639 W peak85 NmPeak stated in the review
Urtopia Carbon Atom750 W; about 1,250 W peak90 NmPeak stated
Sur-Ron Light Bee XAbout 10,000 W peak295 NmMaker figure
Ariel Rider Grizzly 72V3,000 W rated, 8,000 W peak250 NmMaker claim

A caution about the Obsidian row: Electric Bike Review's own figures for it conflict by 300 W (1,000 W in the summary, 1,300 W in the body), so treat the power number as unsettled.

The takeaway is that the only independent power figure here is the dyno result for the Vorsa ST. Everything else is a maker's rating or a reviewer's estimate. Power ratings also don't predict hill speed. OutdoorGearLab's 9% hill test put the Myon first and the Aventure M last, despite the Aventure M's 100 Nm rating, so check the test, not the spec.

Hill-climb speed: the best test of a powerful e-bike#

OutdoorGearLab times each bike up a 9% incline from a flat start. The units are not stated on the page; its how-we-test page says it records speed, so I read these as miles per hour.

BikeAverage hill speed
Segway Myon18.8
Segway Xafari18.5
Lectric ONE18
Lectric XP4 75018
Rad Power RadRunner Max17.7
Blix Vika X17.6
Aventon Aventure 316.9
Aventon Level 314.5
Ride1Up Portola13.9
Lectric XP413.6
Lectric XP Lite 2.012.4
Ride1Up Roadster V310.2
Aventon Aventure M9.7

The gap is the useful part: the best bikes hold roughly 18 mph up a 9% slope, which is nearly the Class 2 limit, while the weakest drop below 10. If you ride hills, that matters more than the 28 mph figure. OutdoorGearLab also notes that in its 2026 tests "some motors taper off early (around 26 mph)" while others run slightly past the 28 mph Class 3 limit, without naming which. For more hill-focused bikes, see my best electric bikes guide.

Most reliable high speed electric bike under 2500 in 2027#

The most reliable high speed electric bike under 2500 2027 has to offer is hard to name, because reliability is the hardest thing to source. Here is what I can and can't say. I found no long-term durability test of any bike in this guide. What I do have is price, certification claims, company status and the reviewers' notes.

BikePriceTop assisted speedReliability evidence I found
Lectric XP4 750$1,29928 mphOutdoorGearLab score 86; no durability data
Ride1Up Vorsa ST$1,69528 mphScore 81; dyno result; no durability data
Aventon Level 3$1,79928 mphMaker spec only
Ride1Up Revv 1$1,895 to $2,59528 mph (46 mph off-road, disputed)UL 2271 claimed (Electric Bike Report); heavy, "not great for pedaling" (OutdoorGearLab)
Aventon Level 4 REC$1,99928 mphScore 85; three testers agree on range; regenerative braking
Segway Myon$1,99928 mphScore 84; best hill speed
Segway Xafari$2,399Class 2 or 3Score 92, the top score, at 94 lb

My view: if you want the most reliable high speed electric bike under 2500 2027 can offer, or at least a high speed electric bike under 2500 dollars with the best evidence behind it, the Level 4 REC and the Xafari have the strongest independent scores, and the XP4 750 is the cheapest. But "most reliable" is a claim nobody here can fully back, so I would check four things before buying any of them:

  1. UL certification for the battery and bike, and ask the maker for the certificate. I could confirm UL claims only for the Revv 1 (UL 2271, claimed).
  2. The warranty and who does repairs. I did not verify warranty terms for any of these.
  3. The company's health. Rad Power Bikes filed for bankruptcy in December 2025 and was sold in March 2026; see my e-bike trends and news guide.
  4. Parts and brakes. Fast bikes need strong brakes: Electric Bike Report measured a 19 ft 2 in average stop from 20 mph on the Revv 1 with its 4-piston hydraulic brakes.

Classes, law and speed#

Wikipedia's summary of e-bike laws says US federal law defines a low-speed electric bicycle as one with working pedals, a motor under 750 W and a motor-only top speed under 20 mph with a 170 lb rider. Most states use three classes: Class 1 (pedal assist to 20 mph), Class 2 (throttle to 20 mph) and Class 3 (pedal assist to 28 mph with a speedometer). Local rules often limit Class 3 on bike paths; California bans it there by default, according to that page.

In the EU and UK the exemption is a 250 W motor that cuts out at 25 km/h, and speed pedelecs at 45 km/h are treated as mopeds in some countries.

What that means for the fast bikes in this guide:

  • A bike that goes faster than its class when unlocked is not covered by the e-bike rules. The Revv 1 off-road mode requires registration and a waiver (OutdoorGearLab) and is intended for private property.
  • Exceeding limits can put a bike in moped or motor vehicle rules, with registration, licensing and insurance requirements.

I don't summarize state rules here. See my e-bike classes explainer, the laws by state guide, the guide on riding an e-bike on the road and my explainer on how fast e-bikes go.

Safety at speed#

Faster bikes carry more risk. A 2021 CPSC news release reported that injuries involving e-scooters, e-bikes and hoverboards jumped 70 percent over four years, and the agency's separate battery warning counted at least 208 micromobility fire incidents and 19 deaths in 2021 and 2022. For the newer proposed rule, see my trends and news guide.

Practical points:

  • Helmet: Class 3 riders face helmet rules in some states, and a helmet makes sense at 28 mph anyway.
  • Brakes: use the best you can afford. 4-piston hydraulics are on the Revv 1; many cheaper bikes have 2-piston ones.
  • Tires and weight: most fast bikes here weigh 66 to 94 lb, which lengthens stopping distance.
  • Battery: a big, powerful battery holds a lot of energy. Charge on a hard surface and don't charge a damaged pack.

Prices and where the sources disagree#

E-bikePrice figures
Ride1Up Revv 1$1,995 (OutdoorGearLab, 2023); $1,895 to $2,595 (ebikegearlab, 2026)
Ride1Up Vorsa$1,595 (Electric Bike Review); $1,695 on sale (OutdoorGearLab)
Lectric XP4 750$1,299 (all)
Aventon Level 4 REC$1,999 (all)
Aventon Level 3$1,799 (ebikegearlab)
Segway Myon / Xafari$1,999 / $2,399 (OutdoorGearLab)
Stromer ST7About $15,000 (ebikegearlab)
Sur-Ron Light Bee X$4,500 to $5,000 (ebikegearlab)
Ariel Rider Grizzly 72V$3,199 (ebikegearlab)

Weights also conflict: the Revv 1 is 84 lb at OutdoorGearLab and 93 lb at Electric Bike Report. For what e-bikes cost overall, see my cost guide. If you want speed on a scooter instead, my fastest electric scooters guide covers it.

Frequently asked questions#

What is the fastest electric bike 2027?#

For street-legal bikes, anything in Class 3 tops out at 28 mph: the Aventon Level 4 REC and Lectric XP4 750 are the best-evidenced. Off-road machines claim 46 to 65+ mph.

What is the fastest electric bike top speed 2027 you can legally ride?#

28 mph on pedal assist in most US states (Class 3), 20 mph on throttle. Local rules vary.

What is the fastest electric bike 2027 top speed in a tested review?#

OutdoorGearLab measured 46 mph on a closed course with the Ride1Up Revv 1 off-road mode, while Electric Bike Report put it at about 35 mph informally. Both are off-road only.

What is the fastest production electric bike 2027 buyers can get?#

By maker claim, the HPC Revolution X9 at 65+ mph for $18,000 (2023 figures). Cheaper: Ariel Rider Grizzly at 60+ mph for $3,199. None is street legal.

What is the fastest production electric bike top speed 2027 in a real test?#

I found no independent test of the HPC or Ariel Rider bikes. The best tested production figure is the Revv 1 at 28 mph in Class 3 and 35 to 46 mph off-road.

What is the fastest production electric bike 2027 top speed under $2,000?#

The Ride1Up Revv 1 hardtail at about $1,895 and the Vorsa. Both reach 28 mph legally.

What is the fastest electric bike in the world 2027?#

Electric motorcycles hold the records, for example 185.103 mph over a flying kilometre in 2019. Among bikes you can buy, claims run to 65+ mph.

What is the most powerful electric bike 2027?#

By tested watts, the Ride1Up Vorsa ST (more than 1,200 W on a dyno). By claimed torque, the Aventon Current EXP at 110 Nm (120 Nm Boost). Off-road bikes go far higher.

What is the most reliable high speed electric bike under 2500?#

No source tests long-term reliability. The Level 4 REC (score 85), Xafari (92) and XP4 750 (86) have the best independent scores. Check UL certification and warranty.

Is a more powerful motor faster?#

Not on a legal e-bike: the class caps assistance at 20 or 28 mph. More power mostly improves hill climbing and acceleration.

Can I unlock my e-bike for more speed?#

Some bikes, like the Revv 1, have an off-road mode. Using it on public roads or paths may break the law, and OutdoorGearLab says it requires registration and a waiver.

The bottom line#

If you want the fastest electric bike 2027 will let you ride legally, buy a Class 3 bike with strong brakes: the Aventon Level 4 REC for most people, the Lectric XP4 750 on a tighter budget, or the Ride1Up Revv 1 if you want the moto look. If you want raw power, the Vorsa has the best independent number, 1,200 W on a dyno. And if a bike claims 50 mph or more, assume it is for private property until proven otherwise.

Prices and models change, so check the current price and specs on the maker's page before you buy. Since I haven't ridden these e-bikes, treat my picks as a well-sourced shortlist and read a hands-on review of the one you choose.

Written by Paul Gendry. Last checked October 9, 2026. This is general information, not professional advice. Specs, prices and rules change, so confirm them on the maker's page and with local authorities.

Portrait of Paul Gendry

Paul Gendry

Author, ElectricMood

Paul Gendry is the pen name of the writer behind ElectricMood. He writes practical guides on electric bikes, electric scooters and electric skateboards, covering how fast they go, how they charge and what the rules say. He builds each guide from manuals, regulations and published research, and he says plainly when something is his own opinion.