Skip to content
ElectricMood
Back to E-bike buying guides

Best Folding Electric Bikes 2027

The best folding electric bike 2027: tested range, folded size and weight for Lectric, Ride1Up, Velotric, Brompton, Tern and more, plus price conflicts.

By Paul Gendry· · Updated · 20 min read

On this page
  1. 1.Best folding electric bike 2027 at a glance
  2. 2.How I chose these folding electric bikes
  3. 3.Best folding electric bike 2027: my picks
    1. 3.1Lectric XP4 750: best overall folding e-bike
    2. 3.2Lectric XP4: best value folding e-bike
    3. 3.3Ride1Up Portola: best budget all-rounder
    4. 3.4Velotric Fold 1 Plus: tall and heavy riders
    5. 3.5Heybike Ranger 3.0 Pro: full suspension and fat tires
    6. 3.6Aventon Sinch 2.5: features and polish
    7. 3.7Lectric XP Lite 2.0: the cheapest light folder
    8. 3.8Urtopia Carbon Fold: the lightest
    9. 3.9Tern Vektron Q9: compact with a Bosch motor
    10. 3.10Brompton Electric: the smallest fold
  4. 4.Which folding electric bike for which need
  5. 5.Folded size, weight and what folding really means
  6. 6.How far do folding e-bikes really go?
  7. 7.Wheels, tires and fit
  8. 8.Taking a folding e-bike on trains, planes and in the car
  9. 9.Battery safety and certification
  10. 10.Prices and where the sources disagree
  11. 11.Frequently asked questions
    1. 11.1What is the best folding electric bike 2027?
    2. 11.2What is the best folding electric bike under $1,000?
    3. 11.3What is the lightest folding electric bike?
    4. 11.4What is the smallest folding electric bike?
    5. 11.5How far do folding electric bikes go?
    6. 11.6Are folding electric bikes safe?
    7. 11.7Can I take a folding electric bike on a plane?
    8. 11.8Are folding e-bikes good for heavy riders?
    9. 11.9Is a folding e-bike harder to ride?
    10. 11.10What class are folding e-bikes?
    11. 11.11Should I buy a folding or a non-folding e-bike?
  12. 12.The bottom line

For most people the best folding electric bike 2027 offers is the Lectric XP4 750. OutdoorGearLab scored it 86 and named it its best folding e-bike, with an 840 Wh battery, a 750 W motor and a price of $1,299 on sale. If you want to spend about $1,000, the plain XP4 at $999 is the value pick. If your priority is a bike you can carry up stairs or onto a train, the Brompton Electric and Tern Vektron fold far smaller, but they cost $3,249 to $4,950 in the sources I read. Most folders in this class are heavy, between 59 and 75 lb, so "folding" mostly means storage, not carrying.

I haven't ridden any of these bikes. This guide pulls together the folding lists from OutdoorGearLab, Electric Bike Review, Electric Bike Report, RiderGuide, Popular Science, Outdoor Life, Tom's Guide and The Inertia, and I say which number comes from whom. They disagree on prices, weights and even batteries, and I show those conflicts instead of picking a winner. The newest of them was updated October 7, 2026.

The honest limit of the evidence: only a few of these lists give a real tested range, and none gives long-term reliability data. Treat my picks as a well-sourced shortlist.

This page may contain affiliate links, which means ElectricMood can earn a commission if you buy through them. See the affiliate disclosure. For non-folding options, see my best electric bikes guide.

Best folding electric bike 2027 at a glance#

Prices are list prices in the named source and they conflict in places. "Weight" is the weight a source reports, with the bike and battery unless it says otherwise.

PickBest forPriceMotor and batteryWeightRange evidence
Lectric XP4 750Best overall folder$1,299750 W, 85 Nm, 840 Wh72 lb36.7 mi throttle-only (OutdoorGearLab); claim up to 85 mi
Lectric XP4Best value$999500 W, 55 Nm, 500 Wh68.5 lb19.1 mi throttle-only (OutdoorGearLab); about 65 mi at lowest assist (Electric Bike Review)
Ride1Up PortolaBest budget all-rounder$895 to $995750 W, 480 to 720 Wh59 to 64.7 lb39.2 mi tested (RiderGuide)
Velotric Fold 1 PlusTall and heavy riders$1,499750 W, 75 Nm, 624 Wh63 lbClaim up to 68 mi
Heybike Ranger 3.0 ProFull suspension, rough ground$1,499750 W, 80 Nm, 720 Wh75 lbAbout 30 to 60 mi tested (Electric Bike Review)
Aventon Sinch 2.5Features and polish$1,799500 W, 60 Nm, 636 Wh72.5 lbUp to 55 mi, tested near the claim (Electric Bike Review)
Lectric XP Lite 2.0Cheapest light folder$799 to $947300 W, 375 Wh49 lbClaim up to 45 mi
Urtopia Carbon FoldLightest$1,899 (Fold 2)500 W peak, about 245 Wh35 lbClaim up to 45 mi
Tern Vektron Q9Compact with Bosch motor$3,249Bosch 250 W, 50 Nm, 400 WhUnder 50 lbClaim 35 to 70 mi
Brompton ElectricSmallest fold, apartments and trains$4,450 to $4,950250 W, 300 to 345 Wh32 to 43 lbAbout 27 mi at max assist (Popular Science); claim 20 to 45 mi

OutdoorGearLab's range is throttle-only with a 180 lb rider, so it reads low. I explain the difference in the range section.

How I chose these folding electric bikes#

Eight sites publish folding e-bike lists, and they do not test the same way.

SourceDateWhat it testedWhat is missing
OutdoorGearLabUpdated July 9, 2026Bought and tested; throttle-only range test, measured weights, scores out of 100Fold size, fold time
Electric Bike ReviewModified December 11, 202510 folders with specs, some tested rangesRider weight for range tests, folded size for most
Electric Bike ReportApril 14, 20268 folders (title says 10), hands-on over "hundreds of miles"Almost all tested figures
RiderGuidePublished June 23, updated October 7, 2026Test loop with measured range, top speed, hill climb and a weighed bikeFolded size, fold time numbers
Popular ScienceUpdated January 15, 2026Real-life folding, elevators, car trunks, commutesLab numbers; ranges are claims
Outdoor LifeJune 16, 2025Family commuter testing, two full chargesBattery sizes
Tom's GuideUpdated June 23, 2026Colorado test in 25°F to 65°F weatherTested range
The InertiaMarch 6, 2026Two testers over two yearsFolded sizes, tested range for most

My rules: use a tester's number only for what it measured, label claims as claims, and show conflicts. I also leave out bikes only one site covers unless they matter. The gaps I could not close are fold times, long-term reliability and a standard range test across brands.

Best folding electric bike 2027: my picks#

Lectric XP4 750: best overall folding e-bike#

OutdoorGearLab scored the XP4 750 86, the highest of the folders it tested, and named it the best folding e-bike. It lists $1,299 on sale, a 750 W motor with 85 Nm (1,310 W peak), an 840 Wh battery (17.5 Ah), a measured 72 lb and 36.7 miles in its throttle-only range test, which is 22.9 Wh per mile on my math. Lectric claims up to 85 miles with the long-range battery (Outdoor Life, The Inertia), which I treat as an assist-level best case. RiderGuide calls it the best mini folding hauler with a 330 lb total limit and a 150 lb rack. Outdoor Life found it improved but noted "folding is awkward." For long-range context see my range guide.

Check the current price

Lectric XP4: best value folding e-bike#

The XP4 is the folder I would start with if $1,000 is the ceiling. It lists $999 at OutdoorGearLab and The Inertia, and Electric Bike Report names it best overall, though Popular Science lists $1,300 with sales near $1,000. OutdoorGearLab measured 68.5 lb and a 500 Wh battery, scored it 71 and recorded 19.1 miles in its throttle-only test, while Electric Bike Review lists about 65 miles tested at the lowest assist (rider weight not stated). That 3.4 times gap is the test method, not a mistake. Popular Science praised its hydraulic brakes at this price but noted visible cords, a fold that takes practice and that you need a bungee to hold it folded. Folded it is about 37 by 17 by 29 inches. One conflict: Popular Science lists 672 Wh where OutdoorGearLab and The Inertia's 10.4 Ah imply about 500 Wh, so confirm the battery on the version you buy.

Check the current price

Ride1Up Portola: best budget all-rounder#

RiderGuide named the Portola its best all-around folder and measured 39.2 miles and 64.7 lb on its test bike. Electric Bike Report calls it best for short and average-height riders, and Tom's Guide calls it best budget. Prices run from $895 (RiderGuide) to $995 (Electric Bike Review, The Inertia). The motor is 750 W, but sources disagree on torque (65 Nm at Electric Bike Review and The Inertia, 90 Nm at RiderGuide) and on weight (59 lb in Popular Science, 62 lb in the Electric Bike Review table). Popular Science says taller riders want more leg extension, folding needs fiddling, and the folded size is about 33 by 19 by 29.5 inches. Battery options are about 500 Wh or 640 to 720 Wh.

Check the current price

Velotric Fold 1 Plus: tall and heavy riders#

Outdoor Life named it best overall in its roundup, and Electric Bike Report names it best for heavy and tall riders. It lists $1,499, a 750 W motor with 75 Nm, a 624 Wh battery, 63 lb, class 3 and a 450 lb total limit with a 120 lb rack. Popular Science says it fits riders about 4 ft 9 in to 6 ft 5 in, folds to roughly 37.8 by 19.7 by 33.5 inches and has a louder motor at higher modes, a battery that is tricky to slide in and out, and it is not ideal for trains. The range is a claim: up to 68 miles with pedal assist and 45 on throttle.

Check the current price

Heybike Ranger 3.0 Pro: full suspension and fat tires#

RiderGuide's best full-suspension folder lists $1,499, 750 W, a 720 Wh battery, about 75 lb, 20 by 4 inch tires and a 440 lb maximum load. Electric Bike Review lists 80 Nm, class 3 and a tested range of roughly 30 to 60 miles depending on assist (rider weight not stated). The Heybike Mars 3.0 is the nearby model in Popular Science, which says folding and lifting it is a two-person job, with a stiff center hinge. At 75 lb this is a bike you store, not carry.

Check the current price

Aventon Sinch 2.5: features and polish#

Electric Bike Review lists the Sinch 2.5 at $1,799 with a 500 W motor (1,056 W peak, 60 Nm), a 636 Wh battery, 72.5 lb, 20 by 4 inch tires, a 300 lb payload and up to 55 miles that it says tested near the claim. The Inertia calls it sleek with advanced features, and Tom's Guide says the Sinch.2 is the best folder for most people. The cost is weight.

Check the current price

Lectric XP Lite 2.0: the cheapest light folder#

RiderGuide's best value folder starts at $799, while Electric Bike Review lists $899 to $947. It has a 300 W motor (819 W peak, 28 Nm), a 375 Wh battery, 20 inch wheels and about 49 lb. Electric Bike Report notes "ghost pedaling" above 16 mph. It is the one to consider if 68 lb is too much. A cheaper step down is the GoTrax eFold at $549 (RiderGuide, 52.2 lb tested, claimed 40 miles), but I have little independent evidence on it.

Check the current price

Urtopia Carbon Fold: the lightest#

Tom's Guide named the Urtopia Carbon Fold 2 its best overall at $1,899, with a 35 lb weight, a 500 W peak hub motor, a 244.8 Wh battery and a folded size of 32 by 27 by 19 inches. The earlier Fold 1 lists $2,500 MSRP (about $1,600 on sale in Popular Science), 29 lb and 252 Wh. Popular Science thought the 40 mile claim was optimistic and the Touring mode felt closer to the 20s. The maker claims up to 45 miles, or 95 with the dual-battery version of the Fold 2. The trade-off is the small battery.

Check the current price

Tern Vektron Q9: compact with a Bosch motor#

Tern's Vektron Q9 lists $3,249 at Electric Bike Review ($3,299 at The Inertia) with a Bosch 250 W motor at 50 Nm, a 400 Wh battery, a weight under 50 lb and a 231 lb payload, and it folds to about 16.5 by 34 by 27 inches. The Inertia calls it the best lightweight and compact pick and says it can roll when folded. The range is a claim, 35 to 70 miles.

Check the current price

Brompton Electric: the smallest fold#

The lists that include a Brompton all describe it as the most compact folder they tested. Prices run from $4,450 (C Line, Electric Bike Review) to $4,700 (The Inertia), $4,750 (P Line, Outdoor Life) and $4,950 (G Line, Popular Science). It uses a 250 W hub and a 300 to 345 Wh battery, and weighs about 32 lb for the C Line without battery, 34.4 lb for the P Line and 43 lb for the G Line with its battery bag. Popular Science reports about 27 miles on a full battery at max assist for the G Line, which is 12.8 Wh per mile on my math, against a claim of 20 to 45. Reported folded sizes vary by model: about 25 by 11 by 25 inches for the C Line and 28.3 by 26.2 by 16 for the G Line. Popular Science says it rides like a larger bike but calls the display controls unintuitive. It costs three to five times the Lectric.

Check the current price

Which folding electric bike for which need#

If you needPickWhy, with the source
One folder for most peopleLectric XP4 750Highest OutdoorGearLab score among folders (86)
Under $1,000Lectric XP4 or Ride1Up Portola$999 and $895 to $995
Smallest fold for an apartment or trainBrompton Electric or Tern VektronSmallest folded sizes in the lists
Lightest to carryUrtopia Carbon Fold29 to 35 lb
Tall or heavy riderVelotric Fold 1 Plus450 lb limit, fits 4 ft 9 in to 6 ft 5 in
Rough paths and comfortHeybike Ranger 3.0 ProFull suspension, 4 inch tires
Hauling cargoLectric XP4 750330 lb total, 150 lb rack (RiderGuide)
CheapestGoTrax eFold or Lectric XP Lite 2.0$549 and $799
Short riderRide1Up PortolaBest for short and average-height riders (Electric Bike Report)

For daily riding without folding, see my best commuter e-bikes and best budget e-bikes guides.

Folded size, weight and what folding really means#

Here are the reported folded sizes and weights side by side. They come from different sites and models, so treat them as approximate.

E-bikeFolded sizeWeightSource
Brompton Electric C LineAbout 25 x 11 x 25 inAbout 32 lb without batteryElectric Bike Review
Brompton Electric G Line28.3 x 26.2 x 16 inAbout 43 lb with battery bagPopular Science
Urtopia Carbon Fold 232 x 27 x 19 in35 lbTom's Guide
Tern Vektron Q9About 16.5 x 34 x 27 inUnder 50 lbElectric Bike Review
Ride1Up PortolaAbout 33 x 19 x 29.5 in59 to 64.7 lbPopular Science, RiderGuide
Lectric XP4About 37 x 17 x 29 in61 lb without battery, 68.5 to 69 lb withPopular Science, OutdoorGearLab
Velotric Fold 1 PlusAbout 37.8 x 19.7 x 33.5 in63 lbPopular Science
Heybike Mars 3.038.2 x 19.7 x 33.1 inAbout 70 lbPopular Science

Two lessons. First, a folded 60 to 75 lb e-bike still needs two hands and strong arms to lift. Popular Science says folding and lifting the Mars 3.0 is a two-person job and that it barely fit a hatchback, and that the Fold 1 Plus is not ideal for trains. Second, the real difference between a 35 lb bike and a 68 lb bike is whether you can carry it upstairs, and I read the heavy ones as bikes to store in a car, closet or garage, not to carry (my judgment). For weight context see my guides on how much an e-bike weighs and the lightest e-bikes.

Folding quirks the testers reported:

  • Visible cables and a fold that takes practice on the XP4 (Popular Science).
  • A stiff center hinge on the Mars 3.0.
  • A tricky battery to slide in and out on the Fold 1 Plus.
  • A fast two-step fold with magnetic latches on the Urtopia Fold 1.
  • A velcro strap included with the Portola.

My own advice, not from a test: check the hinge and latch every time you unfold, before you ride.

How far do folding e-bikes really go?#

Folding e-bikes have smaller wheels and often smaller batteries, so range matters. The trouble is that most lists give only a claim.

E-bikeBatteryEvidenceWh per mile (my math)
Lectric XP4 750840 Wh36.7 mi throttle-only (OutdoorGearLab)22.9
Lectric XP4500 Wh19.1 mi throttle-only (OutdoorGearLab)26.2
Lectric XP4500 WhAbout 65 mi at lowest assist (Electric Bike Review)7.7
Ride1Up Portola480 or 720 Wh (not stated which)39.2 mi (RiderGuide)Not calculated
Brompton G Line345 WhAbout 27 mi at max assist (Popular Science)12.8
Heybike Ranger 3.0 Pro720 WhAbout 30 to 60 mi by assist (Electric Bike Review)12 to 24
Aventon Sinch 2.5636 WhUp to 55 mi, near the claim (Electric Bike Review)About 11.6

OutdoorGearLab rides throttle-only at the highest power with a 180 lb rider for up to 3 hours, so its numbers are a floor. Electric Bike Review's 65 miles at the lowest assist is a ceiling for the same bike. The truth for your ride is in between. A small folder battery shows up in practice: the 120 Wh Dahon K-Feather is estimated at about 25 miles by Electric Bike Review and has a 16 mph top speed (Electric Bike Report).

For how Eco and Turbo ranges differ on non-folding bikes, see my longest range e-bikes guide, which explains how to estimate range from watt-hours.

Wheels, tires and fit#

Most folders here use 20 inch wheels, with tire widths of 2.5 to 4 inches. The wide tires (Portola 3 inches, Sinch and Ranger 4 inches) add comfort and grip but also weight. Smaller wheels are also used: the Dahon K-Feather has 16 inch wheels with 1.5 inch tires, and the Brompton P Line has 16 inch wheels (Outdoor Life).

Fit is the folding trade-off. The Fold 1 Plus is the most flexible on paper, fitting about 4 ft 9 in to 6 ft 5 in (Popular Science). Taller riders wanted more leg extension on the Portola. Electric Bike Report calls the Portola best for short and average-height riders. If you are over about 6 ft, test ride a folder with an extendable stem before you buy.

Check the class too. The XP4 is class 2 or 3, the Portola ships class 2 and unlocks to class 3, the Fold 1 Plus is class 3, and the Mars 3.0 can exceed 30 mph according to Electric Bike Report. Wikipedia's summary of e-bike laws says federal law defines a low-speed electric bicycle as one with a motor under 750 W and a motor-only top speed under 20 mph, and states set their own rules on where each class may ride. A 750 W motor sits at that line. See my e-bike class explainer and laws by state guide.

Taking a folding e-bike on trains, planes and in the car#

This is why people buy a folder, so here is what the sources and the rules say.

  • Trains and buses: operators set their own rules for size, weight and batteries, and I haven't summarized them. Popular Science says the Fold 1 Plus is not ideal for trains and that the Brompton folds to roughly a third of the size of the other bikes it tested. Check your operator.
  • Cars: the Mars 3.0 barely fit a hatchback in Popular Science's test. Measure your trunk against the folded sizes above.
  • Planes: the FAA's PackSafe guidance limits lithium-ion batteries to 100 Wh each, allows up to two spares of 101 to 160 Wh with airline approval, and its packing poster lists 161 Wh and above as forbidden. Only the Dahon K-Feather's 120 Wh battery falls in the 101 to 160 Wh band. The Urtopia (about 245 to 252 Wh), Brompton (300 to 345 Wh), Tern (400 Wh) and the rest are well above it, so assume they cannot fly as luggage. The FAA page does not mention e-bikes, so ask the airline.
  • Apartments: large lithium batteries carry fire risk. Charge on a hard surface, never charge a damaged battery and check your building's rules.

Battery safety and certification#

The U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission published a proposed rule on June 24, 2026 that would make UL 2849 (e-bikes) and UL 2271 (replaceable battery packs) mandatory with modifications. The Federal Register notice documents 227 micromobility battery incidents from 2019 to 2023, with 39 deaths and 181 injuries, and says 195 of them were fires. It is only a proposal, and I found no final rule. I cover it in my e-bike trends and news guide.

Practical points for folders:

  • Lectric says its XPress2 (a different bike) has a UL 2271 battery and UL 2849 certification. I haven't seen a certification claim for the folders in this guide in my sources, so check the box or the maker's page.
  • The Inertia removed the Rad Power RadExpand 5 from its list after the CPSC warned about battery fire risk from several Rad Power models. Electric Bike Review still lists the RadExpand 5 Plus at $2,099. I don't know whether the warning covers that exact battery, so check the CPSC notice before you buy any Rad.

PeopleForBikes says nearly half of 2024 e-bike sales were direct-to-consumer, and many folders are sold that way, so check the warranty and who handles repairs before you buy.

Prices and where the sources disagree#

Folding e-bike prices swing with sales. These are the conflicts I found:

E-bikePrice figures
Lectric XP4$999 (Electric Bike Report, Outdoor Life, The Inertia); $1,300 list, about $1,000 on sale (Popular Science)
Lectric XP4 750$1,299 (all)
Ride1Up Portola$895 (RiderGuide); $995 (Electric Bike Review, The Inertia)
Lectric XP Lite 2.0$799 (RiderGuide); $899 (Electric Bike Review text); $947 (its table)
Dahon K-Feather$1,299 (card); $1,499 (table) at Electric Bike Review
Heybike Mars 3.0$1,799 list; $1,299 at publication (The Inertia)
Urtopia Carbon Fold 1$2,500 MSRP; about $1,600 on sale (Popular Science)
Brompton Electric$4,450 (C Line), $4,750 (P Line), $4,950 (G Line)

For how much e-bikes cost overall, see my e-bike cost guide, and for what to check before buying, my buying checklist. If you want a folding scooter instead, my lightweight and foldable scooter guide covers it.

Frequently asked questions#

What is the best folding electric bike 2027?#

The Lectric XP4 750 for most people: OutdoorGearLab's best folding e-bike at a score of 86, with an 840 Wh battery, at $1,299 on sale.

What is the best folding electric bike under $1,000?#

The Lectric XP4 at $999 or the Ride1Up Portola at $895 to $995. The Portola was tested at 39.2 miles by RiderGuide.

What is the lightest folding electric bike?#

The Urtopia Carbon Fold at 29 lb (Fold 1) or 35 lb (Fold 2). The Brompton Electric is about 32 to 43 lb and folds smaller.

What is the smallest folding electric bike?#

The Brompton Electric, which every list that includes it shows as the smallest fold, followed by the Tern Vektron Q9.

How far do folding electric bikes go?#

From about 19 miles in OutdoorGearLab's throttle-only test of the XP4 to about 65 miles at the lowest assist in Electric Bike Review's list. Small-battery folders such as the Brompton go about 27 miles at max assist.

Are folding electric bikes safe?#

They are as safe as their brakes, fit and battery. The XP4 has hydraulic brakes, and check the hinge every time you unfold. Battery certification is the open question, and the CPSC's proposed rule would require UL standards.

Can I take a folding electric bike on a plane?#

Probably not. The FAA's PackSafe limits top out at 160 Wh for spares, and nearly every battery here is larger. The FAA page doesn't mention e-bikes, so ask the airline.

Are folding e-bikes good for heavy riders?#

Some are. The Velotric Fold 1 Plus lists a 450 lb total limit and the Heybike Ranger 3.0 Pro 440 lb.

Is a folding e-bike harder to ride?#

Smaller wheels change handling. Popular Science said the Brompton rides like a larger bike, but I haven't ridden any of these.

What class are folding e-bikes?#

Mostly class 2 or 3. The XP4 is class 2 or 3, the Portola ships class 2 and unlocks to class 3, and the Fold 1 Plus is class 3.

Should I buy a folding or a non-folding e-bike?#

Buy a folder only if you need the storage or transport. The non-folding picks in my best electric bikes guide weigh 37 to 94 lb, so folding does not make a bike lighter.

The bottom line#

For most people, buy the Lectric XP4 750 as the best folding electric bike 2027 offers, the XP4 if you must stay near $1,000, or a Brompton or Tern if you need to carry the bike up stairs or onto a train and can pay for it. Remember that anything over about 59 lb is a bike you store folded, not carry, and that the range numbers are claims unless I name a tester.

Prices and models change, so check the current price and specs on the maker's page before you buy. Since I haven't ridden these e-bikes, treat my picks as a well-sourced shortlist and read a hands-on review of the one you choose.

Written by Paul Gendry. Last checked October 9, 2026. This is general information, not professional advice. Specs, prices and rules change, so confirm them on the maker's page and with local authorities.

Portrait of Paul Gendry

Paul Gendry

Author, ElectricMood

Paul Gendry is the pen name of the writer behind ElectricMood. He writes practical guides on electric bikes, electric scooters and electric skateboards, covering how fast they go, how they charge and what the rules say. He builds each guide from manuals, regulations and published research, and he says plainly when something is his own opinion.