Skip to content
ElectricMood
Back to E-bike buying guides

Longest Range Electric Bikes 2027

What electric bike has the longest range? Tested Eco and Turbo miles, watt-hours per mile, dual-battery claims and the longest range electric bike 2027 picks.

By Paul Gendry· · Updated · 21 min read

On this page
  1. 1.Longest range electric bike 2027 at a glance
  2. 2.Electric bike longest range 2027: my picks
    1. 2.1Aventon Level 4 ADV: the tested winner
    2. 2.2Aventon Level 4 REC: the best range for the money
    3. 2.3Velotric Discover 3: long range and a high rider limit
    4. 2.4Ride1Up Vorsa: long range for heavy loads
    5. 2.5Velotric GoMad: long range with a second-battery option
    6. 2.6HeyBike Venus: a light bike with a long Eco range
  3. 3.What e bike has the longest range when you ride faster?
  4. 4.What ebike has the longest range with two batteries?
  5. 5.Why the testers' range numbers disagree
  6. 6.Small battery, long range: the efficiency side
  7. 7.How to estimate your own electric bike range
  8. 8.What cuts e-bike range
  9. 9.Big batteries, travel and safety
  10. 10.Is a long-range electric bike worth it?
  11. 11.Related e-bike guides
  12. 12.Frequently asked questions
    1. 12.1What electric bike has the longest range?
    2. 12.2What ebike has the longest range in Turbo?
    3. 12.3What e bike has the longest range for the money?
    4. 12.4What is the longest range electric bike 2027 with a throttle?
    5. 12.5What is the electric bike longest range 2027 with two batteries?
    6. 12.6Do makers' range claims match the tests?
    7. 12.7Does a bigger battery always mean longer range?
    8. 12.8How far will an e-bike go in Turbo or max assist?
    9. 12.9Why is the OutdoorGearLab range so much lower?
    10. 12.10Can I fly with an electric bike battery?
    11. 12.11How do I work out my own range?
    12. 12.12Is the 118 mile figure realistic?
  13. 13.The bottom line

The longest range electric bike 2027 buyers can get, among bikes someone actually tested, is the Aventon Level 4 ADV. Electric Bike Review tested it at 118 miles in Eco mode and 55 miles in Turbo, from an 800 Wh battery, against a maker claim of 110. If you want most of that range for $800 less, the Aventon Level 4 REC tested at 96 to 97 miles in Eco at two sites and costs $1,999. Bikes with two batteries claim 150 to 215 miles, but I found no independent test of those claims.

So what electric bike has the longest range depends on what you count. A tested Eco-mode figure, a tested throttle-only figure and a maker's "up to" number are three different things, and many pages on this topic mix them. I keep them apart and show the watt-hours per mile (my own math) so you can compare a small battery with a big one.

I haven't ridden any of these bikes. Everything here comes from published tests: Electric Bike Review (modified July 28, 2026), Electric Bike Report (July 31, 2026) and OutdoorGearLab (July 9, 2026), plus maker claims where I label them as claims. Where two testers disagree I show both.

This page may contain affiliate links, which means ElectricMood can earn a commission if you buy through them. See the affiliate disclosure. For the wider buying guide, start with my best electric bikes.

Longest range electric bike 2027 at a glance#

Every row below is a tested number unless it says "claim". "Wh per mile" is my own math: battery watt-hours divided by tested miles. Lower means the bike gets more distance from each watt-hour.

E-bikeBatteryTested, low assist (Eco)Tested, high assist (Turbo)Wh per mile, EcoMaker claimSource
Aventon Level 4 ADV800 Wh118 mi55 mi6.8110 miElectric Bike Review
Aventon Aventure M733 Wh100+ miAbout 38 miUnder 7.385 miElectric Bike Review
Aventon Level 4 REC733 Wh96 to 97 mi43.8 to 44 mi7.675 miElectric Bike Review, Electric Bike Report
Velotric Discover 3730 Wh87 mi38 mi8.480 miElectric Bike Review
Ride1Up Vorsa FT720 Wh87 mi40 mi8.330 to 60 miElectric Bike Review
HeyBike Venus680 Wh83 mi (PAS 1)32 mi (PAS 5)8.285 miElectric Bike Review
Velotric GoMad801.6 Wh81 miNot stated9.9About 150 mi with a second batteryElectric Bike Review
Velotric Tempo374 Wh71 miNot stated5.3Not statedElectric Bike Review

Prices in the sources: $2,799 for the Level 4 ADV, $1,999 for the Level 4 REC and the Discover 3, $1,595 for the Vorsa (Electric Bike Review). I did not find a sourced price for the GoMad or Venus, so I leave them out. The conditions behind these numbers matter a lot, and I explain them in the section on why testers disagree.

Electric bike longest range 2027: my picks#

Aventon Level 4 ADV: the tested winner#

Electric Bike Review lists the Level 4 ADV at 118 miles in Eco and 55 in Turbo, the longest tested range on its page, and above the 110 miles Aventon claims. It costs $2,799 and has a mid-drive Ultro S motor with 750 W peak and 100 Nm of torque, an 800 Wh battery and a 61 lb weight, with classes 1, 2 and 3. At 6.8 Wh per mile in Eco, it is the most efficient of the large-battery bikes in the table. The Turbo number is the one to remember if you ride fast, because 55 miles is the best high-assist result in the tests I found. I haven't ridden it, and the figure comes from one tester.

Check the current price

Aventon Level 4 REC: the best range for the money#

Two testers measured the Level 4 REC independently: Electric Bike Review got 96 miles in Eco and 44 in Turbo, and Electric Bike Report got 97 and 43.8. Aventon claims 75, so both beat the claim by more than 20 miles, and Electric Bike Review credits regenerative braking. It lists a 733 Wh battery, a 750 W hub motor and a weight between 68.5 and 70.3 lb, and costs $1,999. Compared with the ADV, the extra $800 buys 22 more Eco miles and 11 more Turbo miles, about $36 per extra Eco mile on my math. When two sites agree, I trust the number more than a single result, which is why this is the one I would start with.

Check the current price

Velotric Discover 3: long range and a high rider limit#

Electric Bike Review tested the Discover 3 at 87 miles in Eco and 38 in Turbo with a 185 lb rider, through real stops and hills, against an 80 mile claim. It lists $1,999, a 730 Wh battery and 61 lb. Electric Bike Report names it best for city riding and seniors and gives a 440 lb limit. The Turbo range is the weakest part, at 38 miles.

Check the current price

Ride1Up Vorsa: long range for heavy loads#

Electric Bike Review tested the Vorsa FT at 87 miles in Eco and 40 in Turbo with a 190 lb rider on mixed terrain. The Vorsa is listed at 720 Wh, 95 Nm, about 70 lb, a 440 lb payload and $1,595. Its claim is given as 30 to 60 miles, so the Eco result is far above it. OutdoorGearLab's ST version scored 81 and measured 34.3 miles in its throttle-only test, which is a different measurement. Note the model names differ (Vorsa FT, Vorsa ST), so check which one you are buying.

Check the current price

Velotric GoMad: long range with a second-battery option#

Electric Bike Review tested the GoMad at 81 miles in Eco with more than 1,400 feet of climbing, from an 801.6 Wh battery. The 81 miles on that much climbing is the notable part. It weighs 78 lb, has a 500 lb payload and takes an optional second battery, for which the maker claims about 150 miles. That second-battery figure is a claim, not a test.

Check the current price

HeyBike Venus: a light bike with a long Eco range#

The Venus has a 680 Wh battery and weighs about 50 lb. Electric Bike Review tested it at 83 miles in PAS 1 and 32 in PAS 5, with a 185 lb rider and 600 feet of climbing, against an 85 mile claim. So the claim is close to the lowest-assist result and well above what you would get at higher assist. It is one of the lighter bikes here, which helps if you carry it.

Check the current price

What e bike has the longest range when you ride faster?#

Most people don't ride in Eco all day, so the high-assist number is the one that sets expectations. In Electric Bike Review's tests, Turbo or the top assist level cut range to roughly 40 to 60 percent of the Eco figure.

E-bikeEco or low assistTurbo or high assistEco to Turbo ratioWh per mile, high assist
Aventon Level 4 ADV118 mi55 mi2.114.5
Aventon Level 4 REC96 mi44 mi2.216.7
Ride1Up Vorsa FT87 mi40 mi2.218.0
Velotric Discover 387 mi38 mi2.319.2
HeyBike Venus83 mi32 mi2.621.3
Urtopia Carbon Joy Ultra (529 Wh)62 mi25 mi2.521.2
Trek FX+1S (520 Wh)52 mi33 mi1.615.8
Retrospec Chatham Rev+ 2 (500 Wh)49.1 mi (Electric Bike Report)24.5 mi2.020.4

The pattern is that your range at a brisk assist level is roughly half the headline. The Trek FX+1S is the exception, at 52 miles on minimum assist and 33 on maximum (a ratio of 1.6). It has a smaller battery (520 Wh) on a lighter bike, and I don't know why its range falls less at high assist.

Electric Bike Review's Aventure M, tested at about 38 miles in Turbo at 18 to 19 mph, is a reminder that speed matters too: the figure assumes a steady moderate pace, not full throttle. And the Monarc Tracer, which carries two 720 Wh batteries (1,440 Wh in total), was tested at 67 miles in Cruise and 35 in Boost. That is 21.5 and 41.1 Wh per mile on my math, which is far less efficient than the single-battery bikes above, though the mode names differ from Eco and Turbo, so I wouldn't read it as a like-for-like comparison.

What ebike has the longest range with two batteries?#

Dual-battery bikes are where the biggest numbers live, and almost all of them are claims. Here is what I found, with the source and whether it was tested:

E-bikeBatteryRange figureTested or claimSource
Velotric GoMad801.6 Wh, optional second batteryAbout 150 mi with second batteryClaimElectric Bike Review
Lectric XPedition 2.0624 Wh to 1,680 Wh options60 mi base, up to 170 mi with upgradesClaimElectric Bike Review
Fiido Titan696 Wh, up to 2,088 Wh with three batteriesAbout 71 mi, up to 215 miClaimRetailer guide (Velorution)
Engwe M20 3.01,200 Wh, dual packs90 mi, up to 180 miClaimRetailer guide (Velorution)
Monarc TracerTwo 720 Wh batteries67 mi Cruise, 35 mi BoostTestedElectric Bike Review
Monarc MarkerTwo batteries standard32 mi on one battery at max assist, windyTestedElectric Bike Review

Two things stand out. First, the claims imply roughly 10 to 13 Wh per mile on my math (1,680 Wh over 170 miles is 9.9, 2,088 Wh over 215 miles is 9.7, and 1,200 Wh over 90 miles is 13.3). That is in line with the tested Eco figures of 5 to 10 Wh per mile, so the claims are plausible only if you ride at low assist on flat ground. Second, the one dual-battery bike with a tested figure, the Monarc Tracer, used about twice that energy per mile.

A simple check: the GoMad's 81 tested miles on 801.6 Wh would double to about 162 miles if a second battery doubled the energy and nothing else changed. The maker claims about 150. That is just arithmetic, not a test, and the extra battery adds weight that costs some range, so I would plan for less. Treat any figure over 120 miles as a best case until a tester measures it.

Why the testers' range numbers disagree#

If you read the three main testers side by side, they look like they are describing different bikes. They are measuring different things.

SourceHow range is measuredRider and routeWhat it means
OutdoorGearLabThrottle only, bike at its highest power setting, nonstop for up to 3 hours, logged by a Garmin Edge 840180 lb rider, rolling hills on pavement, gravel and dirtA low-end figure, because the rider doesn't pedal
Electric Bike ReviewEco, Turbo and other modes reported separately, with claims marked185 to 190 lb riders in the tests that name one, mixed terrain, one route with about 1,350 ft of climbingThe most useful for planning, but no single protocol
Electric Bike ReportSays it range-tests each bike, procedure not described on the page I readNot statedUseful as a second opinion on the same bike
Maker or retailer"Up to" figure, usually lowest assistUsually a light rider, flat routeA best case

OutdoorGearLab's own how-we-test page says that "these bikes can be ridden much farther, with the rider contributing power rather than just pushing the throttle." So its numbers aren't wrong, they are a floor. Here they are with my Wh per mile:

E-bikeBatteryOutdoorGearLab rangeWh per mile
Segway Xafari936 Wh38.2 mi24.5
Lectric XP4 750840 Wh36.7 mi22.9
Segway Myon722 Wh36.1 mi20.0
Ride1Up Vorsa ST720 Wh34.3 mi21.0
Aventon Level 4 REC733 Wh33.4 mi21.9
Aventon Aventure 3720 Wh28.3 mi25.4
Aventon Soltera 3 ADV366 Wh24.8 mi14.8
Lectric XP4500 Wh19.1 mi26.2

Compare the Level 4 REC: 33.4 miles throttle-only at OutdoorGearLab against 96 miles in Eco at Electric Bike Review. That is the same bike, a gap of almost three times, and both can be true. Electric Bike Report also reports the Juiced Scrambler FS (998 Wh) at 43.4 miles on throttle only, which works out to 23.0 Wh per mile and fits the same pattern.

The practical rule: use the Eco figure to see what the bike can do at its best, the Turbo or throttle-only figure to see the worst case, and expect your own ride to land in between. I only found a throttle-only test, an Eco test and a claim for most of these bikes, so I would not trust any single one on its own.

Small battery, long range: the efficiency side#

A big battery is one way to get distance. The other is a bike that uses less energy per mile, and the numbers show it:

  • Velotric Tempo: 374 Wh, 71 miles in Eco (Electric Bike Review) with a 190 lb rider and about 1,350 ft of climbing. That is 5.3 Wh per mile, the lowest in this guide, and it needs you to pedal.
  • Urtopia Carbon Joy Ultra: 529 Wh, 62 miles in PAS 1 and about 25 in PAS 5 (Electric Bike Review), 42 lb for the bike.
  • Aventon Soltera 3 ADV: a 366 Wh battery and a 250 W motor gave 24.8 miles throttle-only at OutdoorGearLab, 14.8 Wh per mile and the best of that table, at 37 lb.

What these have in common is light weight and a modest motor. In the OutdoorGearLab table, the heavy, powerful bikes (Xafari at 94 lb, Aventure 3 at 79 lb) land at about 24 to 25 Wh per mile. A retailer guide (Velorution) says mid-drive motors convert watt-hours into miles more efficiently than hub motors, and the Level 4 ADV, the only mid-drive in my tested table, has the best Eco figure of the big-battery bikes. That is one bike, not proof of a pattern. The Tempo's range depends on your own legs doing real work: a light rider on minimum assist is the case where the maker's number is realistic.

If you value distance per dollar and weight over speed, a 400 to 500 Wh bike at low assist may serve you better than a 1,000 Wh bike you charge less often. For the weight side, see my guide to the lightest e-bikes.

How to estimate your own electric bike range#

You can estimate range yourself with one formula: range in miles is roughly battery watt-hours divided by watt-hours per mile. The Wh per mile figures in the tables above are your starting point, using the Eco column if you pedal a lot and the Turbo column if you don't.

BatteryAt 7 Wh per mile (very efficient)At 10 Wh per mileAt 20 Wh per mile (fast or heavy)
500 Wh71 mi50 mi25 mi
750 Wh107 mi75 mi38 mi
1,000 Wh143 mi100 mi50 mi
1,500 Wh214 mi150 mi75 mi

These are my calculations, not tests. They assume you can use the whole battery, and in practice you will lose some at the top and bottom of the charge, so shave them down. They are useful for sanity-checking a claim. If a maker says 150 miles from 750 Wh, that implies 5 Wh per mile, which is lower than anything the testers measured in this guide.

Worked example: you ride a 733 Wh Level 4 REC at a medium assist level between Eco (7.6 Wh per mile) and Turbo (16.7). A midpoint of about 12 Wh per mile would give roughly 60 miles. That is my estimate, and it lands between the two tested numbers, which is the point.

What cuts e-bike range#

The tests give concrete evidence for a handful of factors:

  • Assist level. The biggest one. The HeyBike Venus went 83 miles at PAS 1 and 32 at PAS 5, the Urtopia Carbon Joy Ultra 62 and about 25. See the table above.
  • Throttle versus pedaling. OutdoorGearLab's throttle-only test gave 19 to 38 miles on bikes that go 80 to 118 in Eco at Electric Bike Review. Pedaling adds your own power.
  • Speed. The Aventure M's Turbo figure is quoted at 18 to 19 mph. Electric Bike Review's Urtopia Carbon Atom, with a claim of about 90 miles at lower assist, was tested at 45 miles at max power capped at 20 mph.
  • Terrain. The GoMad's 81 miles had 1,400+ feet of climbing, the Venus's 83 miles 600 feet. A flat route would likely beat both, but I don't have a flat-route test for those two.
  • Wind. Electric Bike Review's 32 mile Monarc Marker result at maximum assist on one battery was in windy conditions.
  • Rider weight. The tests that name a rider use 180 to 190 lb. A lighter rider will likely do better, a heavier one worse, but I haven't seen a test that varies rider weight on the same bike.
  • Tire pressure. OutdoorGearLab inflates tires to the maximum recommended pressure for its range test. I haven't seen a test that measures how much that changes range.

For cold weather, charging habits and other factors the testers don't measure, see my guides on riding an e-bike in snow and winter and how often to charge an e-bike battery.

Big batteries, travel and safety#

More range means a bigger battery, and a bigger battery stores more energy. The U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission counted at least 208 micromobility fire or overheating incidents in 39 states between January 2021 and November 2022, with at least 19 deaths, in a December 2022 CPSC news release, and asked manufacturers to certify to UL standards. Electric Bike Report notes the Lectric XPedition 2.0 and Aventon Abound LR are UL certified. I couldn't verify certification for the other bikes in this guide, so check the box or the maker's page, charge on a hard surface and don't charge a damaged battery.

Flying with one is a separate question. The FAA's PackSafe guidance limits lithium-ion batteries to 100 Wh each and allows up to two spares of 101 to 160 Wh with airline approval, and its packing poster lists 161 Wh and above as forbidden. Every battery in this guide is between 366 Wh and 1,680 Wh by the sources, so none of them fits those limits. The FAA page does not mention e-bikes, so check with the airline or a shipping specialist rather than assuming.

Weight is the other cost of range. The Level 4 ADV is 61 lb, the GoMad 78 lb and the Xafari 94 lb, so a bigger battery bike is harder to lift into a car. Several testers advise removing the battery before lifting.

Is a long-range electric bike worth it?#

It depends on how often you would actually use the range. A few ways to think about it:

  • Daily commuters. A 20 mile round trip is inside the Turbo range of the larger-battery bikes here (32 to 55 miles). The bigger battery mostly buys you fewer charges, and I don't have a durability test that shows more.
  • Weekend tourers and bikepackers. This is where 100 mile Eco numbers matter, but remember they assume low assist and a steady pace. Plan on half that at a faster pace.
  • Riders who want a spare. A dual-battery bike claims much more, but the weight and the lack of tests are real costs.

On price, the cheapest tested way into 90+ mile Eco territory in my sources is the Level 4 REC at $1,999. The ADV adds $800 for another 22 Eco miles, which is a good deal only if you ride in the range where those extra miles matter. If you ride 30 miles a day, they never will. For what e-bikes cost to buy and run, see my e-bike cost guide, and for what to check before buying, my buying checklist.

If you are weighing an e-bike against a scooter for distance, my long-range electric scooter guide covers that side.

Frequently asked questions#

What electric bike has the longest range?#

Among tested bikes, the Aventon Level 4 ADV: 118 miles in Eco and 55 in Turbo at Electric Bike Review, from an 800 Wh battery. Dual-battery bikes claim up to 150 to 215 miles, but I found no test of those claims.

What ebike has the longest range in Turbo?#

The Level 4 ADV again, at 55 miles in Turbo, ahead of the Level 4 REC at 44 and the Ride1Up Vorsa FT at 40 (all Electric Bike Review).

What e bike has the longest range for the money?#

The Level 4 REC. It tested 96 to 97 miles in Eco at two sites and costs $1,999. The Level 4 ADV costs $800 more for another 22 Eco miles.

What is the longest range electric bike 2027 with a throttle?#

OutdoorGearLab's throttle-only test put the Segway Xafari first at 38.2 miles from a 936 Wh battery, followed by the Lectric XP4 750 at 36.7 and the Segway Myon at 36.1.

What is the electric bike longest range 2027 with two batteries?#

The claims are 150 miles for the Velotric GoMad with a second battery, 170 for the Lectric XPedition 2.0 with its largest battery, and up to 215 for the Fiido Titan with three batteries. None are independently tested in my sources.

Do makers' range claims match the tests?#

Often the tested Eco figure is higher: the Level 4 ADV was 118 against a 110 claim, the Level 4 REC 96 against 75, the Discover 3 87 against 80. But the Nomad 2X tested 68 miles in Trail mode at PAS 1 against a 75 mile Eco claim, so it is not guaranteed.

Does a bigger battery always mean longer range?#

No. The 374 Wh Velotric Tempo went 71 miles in Eco, while the two-battery, 1,440 Wh Monarc Tracer went 67 in Cruise. Efficiency matters as much as size.

How far will an e-bike go in Turbo or max assist?#

Roughly 40 to 60 percent of its Eco range in these tests: 55 miles for the Level 4 ADV, 44 for the REC, 38 for the Discover 3, and 32 for the HeyBike Venus at PAS 5.

Why is the OutdoorGearLab range so much lower?#

It tests throttle-only at the highest power setting, with a 180 lb rider, for up to 3 hours. The testers say the bikes can go much farther if the rider pedals.

Can I fly with an electric bike battery?#

Probably not. The FAA's PackSafe limits top out at 160 Wh for spare lithium batteries, and every battery in this guide is 366 Wh or more. The FAA page doesn't mention e-bikes, so check with the airline.

How do I work out my own range?#

Divide the battery's watt-hours by your watt-hours per mile. Use about 7 to 10 for gentle Eco riding and 15 to 20 for fast or hilly riding, based on the tested bikes above.

Is the 118 mile figure realistic?#

It is Electric Bike Review's Eco result and it beat Aventon's own 110 mile claim, but it is one tester's number and I don't have the rider weight for it. Plan on about 55 miles at Turbo.

The bottom line#

The longest range electric bike 2027 shoppers can verify is the Aventon Level 4 ADV at 118 miles in Eco, and the best value is the Level 4 REC at 96 to 97 miles for $1,999. Whatever you pick, plan on roughly half the Eco number at a brisk assist level, and treat any two-battery claim over 120 miles as a best case until someone tests it.

Prices and models change, so check the current price and specs on the maker's page before you buy. Since I haven't ridden these e-bikes, treat my picks as a well-sourced shortlist and read a hands-on review of the one you choose.

Written by Paul Gendry. Last checked October 9, 2026. This is general information, not professional advice. Specs, prices and rules change, so confirm them on the maker's page and with local authorities.

Portrait of Paul Gendry

Paul Gendry

Author, ElectricMood

Paul Gendry is the pen name of the writer behind ElectricMood. He writes practical guides on electric bikes, electric scooters and electric skateboards, covering how fast they go, how they charge and what the rules say. He builds each guide from manuals, regulations and published research, and he says plainly when something is his own opinion.